The Bridal Shower

The wedding is two months from today.  TWO MONTHS.  CUE THE FREAK OUT.

bridesmaids

Last weekend was my bridal shower.  Because I am a busy body control freak I knew a lot about it beforehand.  Just like everything else with this godforsaken wedding it was difficult choosing a location.  The bridesmaids had great ideas of places to host it but some places never responded, some places were rude, and others, outrageously expensive.  We decided on Compari’s in downtown Plymouth.  I had never eaten there so we took a shot….and it was GREAT!

They have a room in the back that separated us from the restaurant diners.  The color we chose was aqua and it looked great against the walls!

The bridesmaids set up a “Something old, something new,…” theme which I didn’t know about and it was so cute.

IMG_4197

Nail polish favors with heart cut outs.  Thanks pinterest!

One of my favorite things ended up being the “something borrowed” advice book from the guests at the shower!

IMG_4211

My parents

IMG_4218

My maid of honor Rachelle

IMG_4228

So many gifts!!

IMG_4220

Bridesmaid Kara, one of my best friends and mom to our flower girl, Kaydence

IMG_4230

My bridesmaid aunt/friend Laura and her daughter, Carli, our jr. bridesmaid

IMG_4285

Our flower girl, who started helping us open gifts and then eventually took off with some of them

IMG_4222

Cake made by my grandma

bridalshower1

Groom, bride, and my future mother-in-law

bridalshower13

Something old…photos of us.  Homecoming and prom photos included!

bridalshower17

Centerpieces

IMG_4224

Ashely, my bridesmaid and future sister-in-law

bridalshower35

Bridesmaids, bride and groom!

The time FLEW BY.  I think I am starting to understand what people mean when they say to enjoy the wedding because it goes by extremely fast.

I felt unexpectedly overwhelmed at the shower.  I couldn’t even eat because my stomach was so tight.  I couldn’t sleep that night because I was having anxiety over all of the presents that everyone bought us.  I need Xanax!!

Speaking of the gifts…I wasn’t really expecting the mess.  I should have made room and cleaned everything before the shower but I wasn’t thinking.  We had four full loads of dishes of JUST new items.  It took several days to get everything put away and organized.  I had to completely rearrange our kitchen in order to make everything fit.  Now our kitchen looks soo classy.

I’m glad I listened to all of those articles that tell you to do your thank you notes right away.  I only have a few left and it’s nice to not have to worry about it.  It took quite a while but I’m sure it’s nothing compared to the wedding thank yous!

It was nice to be able to sit back and enjoy the shower without having to do any work.  My bridesmaids did such a great job… the little details were amazing and everyone had a good time.  I can’t believe it’s already over!!

Leave a Reply

